UP Manila Professor bestowed the title of Star Reviewer Emeritus


Dr. Jose Florencio F. Lapeña, Jr., Professor of Otolaryngology, University Scientist III and former Vice Chancellor of UP Manila, will be bestowed the title of Star Reviewer Emeritus – the top award for reviewers of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery in recognition of his fifth consecutive Star Reviewer Award 2019 at the American Academy of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF) 2019 Annual Meeting on 16 September  2019 in New Orleans, LA, USA. He is only the third Star Reviewer Emeritus of the American Academy and the first non-American to receive it. His previous Star Reviewer Awards were given in Atlanta, Georgia, 8 October 2018; Chicago, Illinois, 12 September 2017; San Diego, California, 20 September 2016; and Dallas, Texas, USA, 29 September 2015 as one of the top ten (0.01%) peer reviewers for the official AAO-HNS journal.


An Attending Otolaryngologist of the Philippine General Hospital and holder of the One UP Professorial Chair in Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (Craniomaxillofacial Surgery) for Outstanding Teaching and Research in UP Manila, he won international recognition for the Philippines when he received the Publons (UK) Inaugural Certified Sentinel of Science Award 2016 as the World’s Most Prolific Editor for “handling the highest number of manuscripts across all the world’s journals,” followed by the Publons Peer Review Awards 2017 “for placing 5th on Publons’ global editor database by number of scholarly manuscripts handled over the past year,” and the Publons Peer Review Awards 2018 “for placing in the top 1% of reviewers in Clinical Medicine on Publons’ global reviewer database, determined by the number of peer review reports performed during the 2017-2018 Award year.”  These awards were created by Publons (now of Clarivate Analytics) to “honour the expert peer reviewers and editors who stand guard over research quality, and lead the charge for better, faster science.” 


On a national level, Dr. Lapeña also won the 6th Eric Nubla Excellence Award of “distinction to a single professional who excels not only in his/her profession but stands out among the top five (5) conferees based on his/her contribution and impact to society; who embodies the values of professionalism, integrity, responsibility, competence and excellence which the PRC stands for” and the Most Outstanding Professional of the Year Award in Medicine 2017 (Outstanding Physician) from the Professional Regulation Commission of the Republic of the Philippines. He has also won the Philippine Medical Association Most Outstanding Physician Award 2016; and all three Philippine Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery Outstanding ENT Specialist Awards in Teaching (2015), Research (2010), and Community Service (2007). 

# # #