College of Medicine’s Basic Medical Degree Program earns prestigious AUN-QA Certification

The UP College of Medicine earned the   ASEAN University Network-Quality Assurance (AUN-QA) certification for its basic medical degree program.


AUN-QA has two certification levels: Institutional Level and Program Level. UPCM applied for the latter. The Certification Assessment at the Program Level was established by the AUN-QA Network "to promote quality assurance in higher education institutions, raise the quality of higher education, and collaborate with both regional and international bodies for the benefit of the ASEAN community."1  The first program assessment was made in 2007 (University of Malaysia). The first in the Philippines to undergo the assessment was De La Salle University.2 As of the moment, more than 200 programs have been assessed. 


When a higher educational institution (HEI) gets an AUN-QA certification, it means that the institution or program met the rigorous academic standards set by AUN member-schools.  For the program level, these standards focused on the quality of educational activities with regard to the following dimensions: quality of input, quality of process, and quality of output.  


The AUN is an association of ASEAN universities.  Established in 1995, there are currently 30 member-universities from 10 ASEAN nations. It is the key implementing agency of the ASEAN tasked with the socio-cultural portfolio: “encouraging and promoting higher education cooperation and development to enhance regional integration in achieving global standards.”3 ASEAN University Network-Quality Assurance is based in Bangkok, Thailand. The Executive Director is Associate Professor Nantana Gajaseni, PhD.


The UPCM Self-Assessment Report (SAR) team worked on the certification project for two years. The 77-member team was headed by Dr. Stella Marie L. Jose (Chair) and Dr. Marissa N. Valbuena (Co-Chair).


The AUN-QA team who assessed the UPCM medical degree program were Prof. Dr. Hanna H. Bachtiar‐Iskandar, DDS, PhD, as Chief and Lead Assessor (Head of the Academic Quality Assurance Board, Universitas Indonesia) and Clin. Prof. Dr. Suwat Benjaponpitak M.D., as Assessor (Acting Dean, College of Religious Studies; Vice President for Academic Affairs, Mahidol University). They did the assessment in Manila from 28-30 August 2018.


The other members of the SAR team were: Dr. Lorna A. Abad,  Dr. Abdel Jeffri A. Abdulla, Dr. Romulo N. Aguilar, Dr. Ma. Cecilia D. Alinea, Dr. Josefina R. Almonte, Dr. Jose Ma. C. Avila, Dr. Christopher John Jerico Balicante, Dr. Ma. Teresa Julieta U. Benedicto, Dr. Noel L. Bernardo, Dr. John Jefferson V. Besa, Dr. Stephanie Fay S.  Cagayan, Prof. Nina Castillo-Carandang, Dr. Grace G. Catalan, Dr. Abner L. Chan, Dr. Anthony GH Cordero, Dr. Armando C. Crisostomo, Dr. Evangeline B. Dela Fuente, Dr. Andrew D. Dimacali, Dr. Coralie Therese D. Dimacali, Dr. Carissa Paz C. Dioquino, Dr. Rodney B. Dofitas, Dr. Michelle Ann B. Eala, Dr. Kyle Patrick Y. Eugeniio, Dr. Fides G. Flores, Dr. Raquel del Rosario-Fortun, Dr. Lilibeth S. Genuino, Dr. Ma. Julieta Corazon V.  Germar, Dr. Charles Michael T. Herrera, Dr. Ana Melissa F. Hilvano-Cabungcal, Dr. Leticia T. Ibañez, Dr. Sharon D. Ignacio, Dr. Leonard D. Javier, Dr. Cecilia A. Jimeno, Dr. Ma. Lourdes Josefina A. Koh-Cabaluna, Dr. Jose Florencio F. Lapeña Jr, Dr. Josefina I. Lapeña, Dr. April B. Llaneta, Dr. Marc Paul J. Lopez, Dr. Marissa B. Lukban, Dr. Jacinto Blas V. Mantaring, Dr. Paolo Victor N. Medina, Dr. Mark Jason D. Milan, Dr. Jose Alvin P.  Mojica, Dr. Elizabeth S. Montemayor, Dr. Leilanie Apostol Nicodemus, Dr. Wilfredo P. Pacheco, Dr. Lia Aileen M. Palileo, Dr. Josept Mari S. Poblete, Dr. Alfredo Q.Y. Pontejos Jr, Dr. Heizel Bernadette M. Reyes, Dr. Ma. Rina T. Reyes-Quintos, Dr. Raniv D. Rojo, Dr. Benjamin P. Sablan Jr, Dr. Marie Dionne P. Sacdalan, Dr. Esther A. Saguil, Dr. Evelyn O. Salido, Dr. Juliet O. Sio-Aguilar, Dr. Madeleine W. Sumpaico, Dr. Anselmo T. Tronco, Dr. Ma. Salome N. Vios, Celerina C. Alon, Ma. Jonalyn M. Apostol, Roselyn D. Arocena, Gina G. Canceran, Criselda B. Cube, Generoso Z. Dela Paz, Carla G. Demabildo, Therese Kristie T. Faro, Lucia L. Juguan, Minerva B. Martinez, Fevito Obidos Jr, Noel Jaybee G. Palenzuela III, Sheila S. Pascual, Yancy J. Reina, and Carolina R. Vytingco.



Photo: AUN-QA Opening Ceremonies (28 August 2018/UP Manila Board Room) -- 1st row: (L-R) Present Dean Charlotte M. Chiong, EVP UP System Dr. Teodoro J. Herbosa, Chancellor  Carmencita D. Padilla,  Dr. Hanna H. Bachtiar‐Iskandar (AUN-QA Assessor), Dr. Suwat Benjaponpitak M.D. (AUN-QA Assesor), Former Dean Agnes D. Mejia. 2nd row: (L-R) Dr. Ma. Liza Antoinette M. Gonzales, VC for Academic Affairs Dr. Nymia P. Simbulan, VC for Administration Dr. Arlene A. Samaniego, Dr. Ma. Antonia E Habana, Dr. Abner L. Chan, Dr. Ma. Salome N. Vios, Dr. Francisco P. Tranquilino, PGH Director Dr. Gerardo D. Legaspi, Dr. Armando C. Crisostomo, Dr. Coralie Therese D. Dimacali, VC for  Research Dr. Eva Maria C. Dela Paz, VC for Planning & Development Dr. Michael L. Tee




1Asean University Network Quality Assurance. "Guide to AUN-QA Assessment at Institutional Level" (Version 2), p. 5
2AUN-QAL Brief Introduction and History. Link:
3ASEANA University Network: “History and Background.” Link: